Office of the Dean

Photo by Marlayna Demond ’11 for UMBC

The central functions of the Office of the Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include oversight and support for the College in the areas of faculty affairs, academic programs and instruction, planning and budget, administration, research, K-16 initiatives, and external relations.

Dr. Kimberly R. Moffitt, Dean
Fine Arts Building, Room 429
kmoffitt@umbc.edu
Home Department: Language, Literacy and Culture

Dr. Matthew Baker, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 430
mbaker@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2169
Home Department: Geography and Environmental Systems
Faculty search process, leave (non-research), retirement/flexible workload, visa issues, faculty recruitment and hiring, and faculty reviews.

Dr. Preminda Jacob, Associate Dean, Research & College Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 442
pjacob2@umbc.edu
(410) 455-3716
Home Department: Visual Arts
Research leaves and fellowships, grant/fellowship routing review, departmental policies, faculty recruitment, and hiring, and faculty reviews.

Dr. John Stolle-McAllister, Associate Dean, Student Success
Fine Arts Building, Room 439
stollem@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2130
Home Department: Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Student learning outcomes assessment, course demand, articulation agreements, faculty recruitment, and hiring, and faculty reviews.

Eva Dominguez, Assistant Dean 
Fine Arts Building, Room 438
edomin2@umbc.edu 
(410) 455-2823
Financial administration and budgeting.

Nick Beckwith, Public Relations Specialist, Digital Content
nbeck2@umbc.edu

Tamara Brown, Executive Administrative Assistant II
Fine Arts Building, Room 431
tbrown@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Dean’s assistant, general inquiries, chairs and directors, faculty leaves, promotion, and tenure, and website inquiries.

Kathleen Carroll, Special Assistant to the Dean for College Policies and Affairs
Public Policy Building
carroll@umbc.edu
College policies and protocols.

Pamela Doppler, Business Services Specialist
Fine Arts Building, Room 444
padoppler@umbc.edu 
(410) 455-5705
Payroll preparer for SSC departments. General payroll and business services support to Chairs, Directors, department administrators, and faculty of non-SSC departments.

Dan Dubyoski, Business Services Specialist
Fine Arts Building, Room 436
dandubyoski@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2643
Travel and business services support to Chairs, Directors, department administrators, and faculty. Payroll preparer for CAHSS Dean’s Office and other SSC programs. Dean’s Office reimbursements.

Jason Duncan, Information Technology Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 538
jduncan3@umbc.edu
(410) 455-5678
Coordinate Information Technology efforts in CAHSS.

James Hamilton, Academic Advising Coordinator
Fine Arts Building, Room 556
jamham@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2958
Coordinate Academic Advising efforts in CAHSS.

Donna Hart, Business Services Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 436
dhart@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2501
Payroll preparer for SSC departments. General payroll and business services support to Chairs, Directors, department administrators, and faculty of non-SSC departments. Oversees SSC operations and staff.

Kelly Hodges, Business Services Specialist
Fine Arts Building, Room 444
khodges@umbc.edu
Payroll preparer for SSC departments. General payroll and business services support to Chairs, Directors, department administrators, and faculty of non-SSC departments.

Jamie Jung, Business Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 434
jjung@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1772`
Accounting and business services support to departmental administrators, chairs, and faculty, pre-award proposal review, and other financial matters.

Briana McEachern, Social Media Manager
brianam2@umbc.edu

Cael Mulcahy, Director of Operations
Performing Arts and Humanities Building, Room 101C
cmulcahy@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2960

Kathy O’Dell, Special Assistant to the Dean for Education and Arts Partnerships
Fine Arts Building, Room 333
odell@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2840
K-12 initiatives, relationships with arts organizations.

Robert Pawloski, Academic Advisor
Public Policy Building, Room 334
rpawloski@umbc.edu

(410) 455-5922

Provide Academic Advising support in Economics Department.

Zach Pennington, IT Support Specialist
Fine Arts Building, Room 112B
zpenn1@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1453

Brad J Ranno, Operations and Production Coordinator
Performing Arts and Humanities Building, Room 106C
bjranno@umbc.edu
410-455-3563

Lisa Thomas, Executive Administrative Assistant I
Fine Arts Building, Room 432
lisah@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1699
Backup to the Dean’s assistant, recruitment, faculty searches, events coordinator, and CAHSS controlled spaces coordinator.

Jenae Wilson, Academic Advisor
jwilso8@umbc.edu
Provide Academic Advising support in the Department of Psychology.

Patricia A. Young, Special Assistant to the Dean for Strategy and Innovation
Sherman Hall A, Room 429
pyoung@umbc.edu
(410) 455-3902
“Looking in the Mirror” series