Skip to Main Content

Office of the Dean

Photo by Marlayna Demond ’11 for UMBC

The central functions of the Office of the Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include oversight and support for the College in the areas of faculty affairs, academic programs and instruction, planning and budget, administration, research, K-16 initiatives, and external relations.

Dr. Kimberly R. Moffitt, Interim Dean
Fine Arts Building, Room 429
kmoffitt@umbc.edu
Home Department: Language, Literacy and Culture

Dr. Kathleen Carroll, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 430
carroll@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2169
Home Department: Economics
Faculty search process, leave (non-research), retirement/flexible workload, visa issues, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Dr. Preminda Jacob, Associate Dean, Research & College Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 442
pjacob2@umbc.edu
(410) 455-3716
Home Department: Political Science
Research leaves and fellowships, grant/fellowship routing review, departmental policies, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Dr. John Stolle-McAllister, Associate Dean, Student Success
Fine Arts Building, Room 439
stollem@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2130
Home Department: Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Student learning outcomes assessment, course demand, articulation agreements, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Eva Dominguez, Assistant Dean 
Fine Arts Building, Room 438
edomin2@umbc.edu 
(410) 455-2823
Financial administration and budgeting 

Tamara Brown, Executive Administrative Assistant II
Fine Arts Building, Room 431
tbrown@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Dean’s assistant, general inquiries, chairs and directors, faculty leaves, promotion and tenure, website inquiries

Jason Duncan, Information Technology Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 538
jduncan3@umbc.edu
Coordinate Information Technology efforts in CAHSS

James Hamilton, Academic Advising Coordinator
Fine Arts Building, Room 556
jamham@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2958
Coordinate Academic Advising efforts in CAHSS

Lisa Harris, Executive Administrative Assistant I
Fine Arts Building, Room 432
lisah@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1699
Backup to the Dean’s assistant, recruitment, faculty searches, events coordinator, CAHSS controlled spaces coordinator

Donna Hart, Business Services Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 436
dhart@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2501
Travel, financial matters

Jamie Jung, Business Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 434
jjung@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1772`
Accounting and business services support to departmental administrators, chairs, and faculty, pre-award proposal review, and other financial matters

Caroline Mulcahy, Director of Operations
Performing Arts and Humanities Building, Room 101C
cmulcahy@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2960

Kathy O’Dell, Special Assistant to the Dean for Education and Arts Partnerships
Fine Arts Building, Room 333
odell@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2840
K-12 initiatives, relationships with arts organizations

Robert Pawloski, Academic Advisor
Public Policy Building, Room 334
rpawloski@umbc.edu

(410) 455-5922

Provide Academic Advising support in Economics Department

Zach Pennington, IT Support Specialist
Fine Arts Building, Room 112B
zpenn1@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1453

Brad J Ranno, Operations and Event Coordinator
Performing Arts and Humanities Building, Room 106C
bjranno@umbc.edu
410-455-3563

Jenae Wilson
Academic Advisor

jwilso8@umbc.edu
Provide Academic Advising support in Department of Psychology