← Back to Event List

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Tchaikovsky's 4th Symphony and more!


Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall

Date & Time

March 8, 2024, 8:00 pm10:00 pm


Join us for an enthralling evening with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, as conductor Ken-David Masur leads the ensemble with Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony — a poignant meditation on fate — along with Toshio Hosokawa‘s contemplative Meditation to the victims of Tsunami (3.11).

The BSO will be joined by cellist Zlatomir Fung for a performance of the unusually fluid and sensitive First Cello Concerto by Camille Saint-Saëns. Since winning the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition while still a student at the Juilliard School, Fung has vaulted into the elite ranks of international soloists, cultivating “a rich, warm tone, impeccable intonation and thoughtful phrasing” (The Baltimore Sun).

The program:
Toshio Hosokawa: Meditation to the victims of Tsunami (3.11) (2011–12)
Camille Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 (1872)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36 (1877–78)

$15 general admission, $10 seniors, $5 students. Please visit here to reserve seats. (The BSO Box Office will be managing tickets for this event.)

Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall is easy to visit, with plenty of free parking. Please visit here for directions and parking information.

Photo of Ken-David Masur: Beth Ross-Buckley