Skip to Main Content

Milena Pajaro-van de Stadt and Asiya Korepanova

FESTIVAL BALTIMORE: Brahms and Shostakovich

Sunday, June 18, 2017
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall

In the third concert of the series, Festival Baltimore presents a recital by violist Milena Pajaro-van de Stadt and pianist Asiya Korepanova performing major works by Brahms and Shostakovich:

  • Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) — Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 120 No. 1; and Sonata No. 2 in E-flat major, Op. 120 No. 2
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1905–1975) — Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 147

Praised by The Strad magazine as having “lyricism that stood out…a silky tone and beautiful, supple lines,” violist Milena Pajaro-van de Stadt has appeared as soloist with the Tokyo Philharmonic, the Jacksonville Symphony, and the Sphinx Chamber Orchestra. She has performed in hundreds of recitals and chamber music concerts throughout the United States, Latin America, and Europe, including an acclaimed 2011 debut recital at London’s Wigmore Hall, which was described in The Strad as being “fleet and energetic…powerful and focused.” Her awards include First Prize of the Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition and top prizes at the Tokyo International Viola Competition and the Sphinx Competition. Ms. Pajaro-van de Stadt’s summer festival appearances include Marlboro, Bowdoin, Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Sarasota, Strings, Bravo! Vail Valley, and La Jolla Summerfest, as well as Italy’s Emilia Romagna Festival. Among the conductors with whom she has worked are Seiji Ozawa, Christoph Eschenbach, Alan Gilbert, Charles Dutoit, and Otto-Werner Mueller.

The fiery Russian-born pianist Asiya Korepanova has established a career as an international virtuoso, with performances in Russia, England, France, Germany, Austria, Spain, Italy, Luxembourg, Greece, the Czech Republic, Australia, Kuwait, and India. In the United States, she has been presented by the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C., the Bargemusic Series in New York, the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Series and Pianoforte Foundation Series in Chicago, and at Carnegie Hall with the New England Symphonic Ensemble, in addition to appearances in Baltimore, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Miami and Atlanta. Her recitals have been broadcast nationally by NPR stations WFMT and WETA, and her work has been featured on CNN. In 2016, Korepanova became artistic director of the Capriccio Festival in Calabria, Italy. In 2017, Korepanova launched Music for Minds, an organization designed to increase public engagement with classical music.

$30 general, $15 for UMBC faculty and staff, free to UMBC students, free to patrons 18 years of age and younger. Tickets may be purchased online — — and will also be available at the door. Advance ticket purchases are strongly recommended, and subscription ticket packages are available.

0 Comments (requires login)