Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff Accomplishments

Photo by Marlayna Demond ’11 for UMBC

Gloria Chuku, Africana Studies, appeared live on Channels Television, Nigeria, one of the two most popular national televisions in the country, and discussed “Spotlight on the State of Education in Nigeria,” on July 9, 2016. She also presented a paper titled African Intellectuals and Decolonization: The Case of Mbonu Ojike,at the 6th Toyin Falola International Conference (TOFAC), Redeemer’s University, Ede, Osun State, Nigeria, July 4-6, 2016.

Felipe Filomeno, Political Science, awarded early career prize from Latin American Studies Association in 2015.

Joan Shin, Education, wins prestigious English-speaking Union Book Award for 2014.

Kate Brown, History, awarded ACLS collaborative research fellowship in January 2015.

Shawn Bediako, Psychology, receives 2014 Champion Award from the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America.

Scott Farrow, Economics, named Economics Coordinator for the Department of Homeland Security’s National Center on the Risk and Economic Analysis of Terrorism Events (CREATE) in September 2014.

Tim Brennan, Public Policy, named Chief Economist of the Federal Communications Commission in January 2014.

Eric Dyer and Lynn Cazabon, Visual Arts, receive Spring 2014 Ruby grants from the Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance.

Kate Brown, History, wins the 2014 George Perkins Marsh Prize of the American Society for Environmental History (for the best book in environmental history) and the 2014 Ellis W. Hawley Prize of the Organization of American Historians (for the “best book-length historical study of the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present”) for her book, Plutopia: Nuclear Families, Atomic Cities, and the Great Soviet and American Plutonium Disasters (Oxford University Press, 2013).

Patty McGonigle, Business Services Specialist, Education, named UMBC’s Non-Exempt Employee of the Quarter for July – September 2013.

Julie Rosenthal, Program Management Specialist, Asian Studies, wins the 2014 Regents’ Award for Non-Exempt Staff. She later received the Howard County Living the Dream Award for her work to distribute groceries and toiletries to senior citizens.

Linda Dusman, Music, and Eric Smallwood, Visual Arts, receive a Maryland Innovation Initiative grant for development of their iPad app, Symphony Interactive.

Theo Gonsalves, American Studies, and Michelle Scott, History, win Smithsonian Institution Senior Fellowships for 2013-14.

Anna Shields, Modern Languages, Linguistics, & Intercultural Communication receives ACLS/Luce Foundation Grant for 2015 to convene a workshop on “The Culture of Literary Competence and Tang Bureaucracy.”

Robert Rubinstein, Sociology & Anthropology, wins the 2013 UMBC Presidential Research Award.

David Lansing, Geography & Environmental Systems, awarded the Ashby Prize for his article, “Performing Carbon’s Materiality: the production of carbon offsets and the framing of exchange,” as one of the two most innovative articles to appear in the Journal of Environmental and Planning A in 2013.

Erle Ellis, Geography & Information Systems, delivers the keynote address, “Anthropocene Ecology: The Cultural Construction of Nature,” at UNESCO Bergen 2014.

Maurice Berger, Center for Art, Design, and Visual Culture, was the recipient of a 2013 Planning Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities for the forthcoming exhibition Revolution of the Eye: Modern Art and the Birth of American Television. Berger writes for the New York Times blog “Lens: Photography, Video and Visual Journalism.”

Anne Brodsky, Psychology and Dean’s Office, won the 2014 Award for Distinguished Contributions to Theory and Research in Community Psychology from the Society for Community Research and Action of the American Psychological Association.

Carlo DiClemente, Psychology, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Addictive Behaviors Special Interest Group of the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies.

David Rosenbloom, Ancient Studies, was the keynote speaker at the Fourth International Conference on Ancient Philosophy at the Federal University Brazil in October 2013.

Joan Shin, Education, and JoAnn Crandall, Education and Language, Literacy, and Culture (emerita) won the 2013 Ben Warren International House Trust Prize for their book Teaching Young Learners English (National Geographic Learning/Cengage Learning, 2013).