Office of the Dean

The central functions of the Office of the Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include oversight and support for the College in the areas of faculty affairs, academic programs and instruction, planning and budget, administration, research, K-16 initiatives, and external relations.

Dr. Scott E. Casper, Dean
Physics Building, Room 322
casper@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2386
Home Department: History

Dr. Anne E. Brodsky, Associate Dean
Physics Building, Room 329
brodsky@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2416
Home Department: Psychology
Faculty affairs, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews, departmental policies

Dr. Cheryl Miller, Associate Dean
Physics Building, Room 327
cmiller@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2183
Home Department: Political Science and Public Policy
Faculty affairs, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews, assessment, course demand

Dr. Kathy O’Dell, Associate Dean
Physics Building, Room 328
odell@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2840
Home Department: Visual Arts
Faculty affairs, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews, faculty leaves, K-16 initiatives, articulation

Eva Dominguez, Assistant Dean 
Physics Building, Room 326
edomin2@umbc.edu 
(410) 455-2823
Financial administration and budgeting 

Terry Aylsworth, Executive Administrative Assistant
Physics Building, Room 331
aylswort@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Dean’s assistant, general inquiries, chairs and directors, faculty leaves

Tamara Brown , Executive Administrative Assistant
Physics Building, Room 330
tbrown@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Recruitment, promotion and tenure, website maintenance

Jesse S. Mashbaum, Business Manager
Physics Building, Room 325
mashbaum@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1772
Accounting and business services support to departmental administrators, chairs, and faculty, pre-award proposal review, and other financial matters

Janice O’NeillBusiness Services Manager
Physics Building, Room 324
oneill@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2501
Travel, financial matters