Skip to Main Content

Office of the Dean

Photo by Marlayna Demond ’11 for UMBC

The central functions of the Office of the Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include oversight and support for the College in the areas of faculty affairs, academic programs and instruction, planning and budget, administration, research, K-16 initiatives, and external relations.

Dr. Scott E. Casper, Dean
Fine Arts Building, Room 429
casper@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2386
Home Department: History

Dr. Tyson King-Meadows, Associate Dean, Research & College Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 442
tkingmea@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2194
Home Department: Political Science
Research leaves and fellowships, grant/fellowship routing review, departmental policies, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Dr. Kathleen Carroll, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 430
carroll@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2169
Home Department: Economics
Faculty search process, leave (non-research), retirement/flexible workload, visa issues, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Dr. John Stolle-McAllister, Associate Dean, Student & Curricular Affairs
Fine Arts Building, Room 439
stollem@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2130
Home Department: Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Student learning outcomes assessment, course demand, articulation agreements, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Eva Dominguez, Assistant Dean 
Fine Arts Building, Room 438
edomin2@umbc.edu 
(410) 455-2823
Financial administration and budgeting 

Tamara Brown, Executive Administrative Assistant
Fine Arts Building, Room 431
tbrown@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Dean’s assistant, general inquiries, chairs and directors, faculty leaves, promotion and tenure, website inquiries

elle trusz, Executive Administrative Assistant
Fine Arts Building, Room 432
elle@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Recruitment, faculty searches, events coordinator, CAHSS controlled spaces coordinator

Jesse S. Mashbaum, Business Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 434
mashbaum@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1772
Accounting and business services support to departmental administrators, chairs, and faculty, pre-award proposal review, and other financial matters

Donna Hart, Business Services Manager
Fine Arts Building, Room 436
dhart@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2501
Travel, financial matters

Kathy O’Dell, Special Assistant to the Dean for Education and Arts Partnerships
Fine Arts Building, Room 333
odell@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2840
K-12 initiatives, relationships with arts organizations

Caroline Mulcahy, Operations Manager, Performing Arts and Humanities Building
Performing Arts & Humanities, Room 101C
cmulcahy@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2960