Campus will lose power at 10:45. Classes cancelled, campus closed. Reopen for events at 4. Updates to follow.
Skip to Main Content

Office of the Dean

The central functions of the Office of the Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include oversight and support for the College in the areas of faculty affairs, academic programs and instruction, planning and budget, administration, research, K-16 initiatives, and external relations.

Dr. Scott E. Casper, Dean
Physics Building, Room 322
casper@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2386
Home Department: History

Dr. Anne E. Brodsky, Associate Dean, Research & College Affairs
Physics Building, Room 329
brodsky@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2416
Home Department: Psychology
Research leaves and fellowships, grant/fellowship routing review, departmental policies, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Dr. Kathleen Carroll, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Physics Building, Room 327
carroll@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2169
Home Department: Economics
Faculty search process, leave (non-research), retirement/flexible workload, visa issues, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Dr.John Stolle-McAllister, Associate Dean, Student & Curricular Affairs
Physics Building, Room 328
stollem@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2130
Home Department: Modern Languages, Linguistics, and Intercultural Communication
Student learning outcomes assessment, course demand, articulation agreements, faculty recruitment and hiring, faculty reviews

Eva Dominguez, Assistant Dean 
Physics Building, Room 326
edomin2@umbc.edu 
(410) 455-2823
Financial administration and budgeting 

Terry Aylsworth, Executive Administrative Assistant
Physics Building, Room 331
aylswort@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Dean’s assistant, general inquiries, chairs and directors, faculty leaves

Tamara Brown, Executive Administrative Assistant
Physics Building, Room 330
tbrown@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2385
Recruitment, promotion and tenure, website maintenance

Jesse S. Mashbaum, Business Manager
Physics Building, Room 325
mashbaum@umbc.edu
(410) 455-1772
Accounting and business services support to departmental administrators, chairs, and faculty, pre-award proposal review, and other financial matters

Janice O’Neill, Business Services Manager
Physics Building, Room 324
oneill@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2501
Travel, financial matters

Kathy O’Dell, Special Assistant to the Dean for Education and Arts Partnerships
Fine Arts Building, Room
odell@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2840
K-12 initiatives, relationships with arts organizations

Caroline Mulcahy, Operations Manager, Performing Arts and Humanities Building
Physics Building, Room 324
cmulcahy@umbc.edu
(410) 455-2960
PAHB scheduling, technical supervision, student workforce, and management